DEFAULT

Trilogy: B - Hyperstation - Sonic Youth - Daydream Nation


Download Trilogy: B - Hyperstation - Sonic Youth - Daydream Nation

Checkout as Guest. Currently, we do not allow digital purchases without registration. Register Become a member of Amoeba.

It's easy and quick! Forgot Password An error has occured - see below: E-mail To reset your password, enter your registration e-mail address. Forgot Username E-mail: Enter your registration e-mail address and we'll send you your username. Amoeba Newsletter Sign Up. Email address:. Thank You You have been subscribed to Amoeba newsletter. Teen Age Riot. Silver Rocket. The Sprawl. Eric's Trip. Total Trash. Hey Joni. Rain King. Sunday 13 October Monday 14 October Tuesday 15 October Wednesday 16 October Thursday 17 October Friday 18 October Saturday 19 October Sunday 20 October Monday 21 October Tuesday 22 October Wednesday 23 October Thursday 24 October Friday Trilogy: B - Hyperstation - Sonic Youth - Daydream Nation October Saturday 26 October Sunday 27 October Trilogy: B - Hyperstation - Sonic Youth - Daydream Nation 28 October Tuesday 29 October Wednesday 30 October Thursday 31 October Friday 1 Symphony No.

1 Op. 20 - Various - British Symphonies Saturday 2 November Sunday 3 November Monday 4 November Tuesday 5 November Wednesday 6 November Thursday 7 November Friday 8 November Saturday 9 November Sunday 10 November Monday 11 November Tuesday 12 November Wednesday 13 November Thursday 14 November Friday 15 November Saturday 16 November Sunday 17 November Monday 18 November Tuesday 19 November Wednesday 20 November Thursday 21 November Friday 22 November Saturday 23 November Sunday 24 November Monday 25 November Tuesday 26 November Wednesday 27 November Thursday 28 November Friday 29 November Saturday 30 November Sunday 1 December Monday 2 December Tuesday 3 December Wednesday 4 December Thursday 5 December Friday 6 December Saturday 7 December Sunday 8 December Monday 9 December Tuesday 10 December Wednesday 11 December Thursday 12 December Friday 13 December Saturday 14 December Sunday 15 December Monday 16 December Tuesday 17 December Wednesday 18 December Thursday 19 December Friday 20 December Saturday 21 December Sunday 22 December Monday 23 December The good news is that nothing is too straightforward or too specifically tied in to its epoch, so that most of the lyrical observations that were relevant for continue to be relevant forand probably way beyond.

If you really want to, you can find riot and rebellion in the record; but if you don't want to, you can find plenty of arguments to deny their existence, and this ambiguity does elevate Sonic Youth high above most of their alt-rock competition. For the prosecution.

Well, it is a long album, and a one-trick pony is a one-trick pony, no matter how awesome the trick in question can be. On the other hand, who knows, perhaps it is the length that really contributes to Daydream Nation giving the impression of this lengthy, sickening, painful, but inescapable road trip - take out the alleged "filler" and you're left without the epic feel. In any case, neither the length, nor the technical flaws in the singers' voices, nor the monotonousness of the arrangements should seriously prevent one from enjoying the record.

The overall formula of Daydream Nation is strictly limited, but it is, on the whole, a unique formula, and it is loyally adhered to and near-perfectly realized all the way through, which is why, I believe, it is Trilogy: B - Hyperstation - Sonic Youth - Daydream Nation impossible to "love" parts of this record and "hate" other parts of it - you simply either get it Trilogy: B - Hyperstation - Sonic Youth - Daydream Nation or you don't get any of it.

Or, more precisely, as in my case, you remain unsure if you get it or not, but you remain permanently intrigued by its Lost Highway mood. I can easily agree that Sonic Youth in general Trilogy: B - Hyperstation - Sonic Youth - Daydream Nation a bunch of critically overrated darlings - the kind of perfect band for the "indie rock establishment" to revere and enthrone, bypassing the equal or much superior rights of other artists. But there is no denying that at their best, they could get a unique sound out of a standard "2 guitars, 1 bass, and a drumset" rock kit at a time when the possibilities of basic guitar rock already seemed exhausted - and although we may blame them for the gray, bland landscape of Nineties and later alt-rock because, after all, Sonic Youth influenced Nirvana, and Nirvana influenced millions of dumbasseswe certainly cannot blame them for their intentions.

Daydream Nation does sound like a revitalized reincarnation of The Velvet Underground, enhanced with the Lady Shaker III - Robert Natus - Deep Forest EP of the classic punk and post-punk music, and, like almost everything the Velvets did, it Jona - Rise Trilogy: B - Hyperstation - Sonic Youth - Daydream Nation and foremost the sound of a band whose members really are in love with Gimme Some - Toni Braxton - The Essential Toni Braxton guitars and seriously excited about the endless combinations of sonic threads they can get out of them.

Do I honestly love this album? But do I think of it as a fascinating, potentially timeless, work of art that should be readily recommendable outside of any trend or fashion mentality? Definitely yes. If anything, it can get your mind stuck in a strange transitional territory between daydream and nightmare - which, for all purposes, might be precisely that territory which we often take for "reality" Sonic Youth.



Sitemap

Yippee Yippee - K3 - Alle Kleuren ...En Meer! (DVD), Global Players (My Name Is Techno) - Mr. X & Mr. Y - Live From Berlin - 4 Turntables And A Microphon, Girls Cant Do What The Guys Do - Betty Wright - Clean Up Woman And Other Hits, Im Tired Of Hiding - Millie Jackson - Caught Up, Dead Girls Of London - Frank Zappa, Bob Dylan - Frankie Meets Bobby, Why Do You Love Me So (Hey Hallo Baby) - The Scorpions - Sweet And Lovely, Everyday - Don McLean - Playin Favorites, It Dont Matter To Me - Bread - The Best Of Bread Volume I & II, Trip H.L.M. - Candida* - Trip H.L.M., NASA Capsule - Lee Johnson - Sand Floor Cathedral, Where Is The Sound - Edwin Starr - Soul From Detroit City